Knoxville East High School Alumni Association

Knoxville East High School Alumni Association

Contact Us

P.O. Box 51763

Knoxville, TN 37950-1763

Officers for 2017-2018 Are Elected

Tuesday, May 30th, 2017 | Uncategorized | No Comments

Hello to all who proudly became Mountaineers, those who attended and graduated from East High School from 1952 until 1968, and remain true to the Blue and Gray.

Upon my return to Knoxville after forty-six years in Middle Tennessee, I noticed the dramatic changes in Knoxville. Thankfully, I was greeted by friends and acquaintances as though I had never been away. For sure, my heart never left. But I was surprised to then be considered for a leadership role by my fellow Mountaineers. Those who served before me, who have given so much of their time, talents, wisdom, and guidance, deserve our appreciation and continued commitment to KEHSAA. I accept the trust you have shown and will give my all to carry the mission forward.

I ask for your ideas and help in moving toward common goals in our cooperative venture so we can together revel in the rich history of our school, creating a future of love, laughter, respect and support for our East High School sisters and brothers. Thanks, Mountaineers, one and all.

— Clint Brewer, Class of ’63


The slate of officers nominated for 2017-2018 were elected by acclimation at the January board meeting. The other officers elected are:

Vice President: Loretta Smith Crowder, Class of ’62

Recording Secretary: Helen Heap Mills, Class of ’55

Assistant Recording Secretary: Jane Moulton Ray, Class of ’58

Corresponding Secretary: Sylvia Moulton Sproul, Class of ’55

Treasurer: Jack Sherrod, Class of ’63

Assistant Treasurer: Carolyn Ellis Cottrell, Class of ’53


Appointed to the 2017-2018 Board:

Benevolence: Tommy Green, Class of ’60

Education: Margie Humphrey LeCoultre, Class of ’55

Legal Counsel: Larry Leibowitz, Class of ’63

Sergeant of Arms: Vincent Kanipe, Class of ’63

Liaison to the Board: Gail Mynatt Ingram, Class of ’62

Public Relations: David Lawson, Class of ’60

Communications: Chris Wohlwend, Class of ’62

Ways and Means: Joe P. Atkins, Class of ’62



To My Fellow East High School Hall of Famers

I was very honored and proud to have been elected into our East High School Hall of Fame and I assume that you were also. I am writing to you today to encourage you to become more active in our East High School Alumni Association (KEHSAA).

KEHSAA was founded in 2010 and has allowed us to renew old friendships and relive old memories. KEHSAA does many good works such as 1) trying to find every individual who ever attended EHS, 2) sending our classmate news and photographs via our quarterly Blue and Grey newspaper, 3) awarding several scholarships, 4) donating to the Smoky Strong Relief Fund through the Dollywood Foundation, 5) remembering our Hall of Honor Veterans who made the ultimate sacrifice, and 6) inducting and celebrating Hall of Fame recipients.

Some of us have only attended our annual KEHSAA Banquet and Celebration when we were inducted. Some of our honored group have not even joined our own Alumni Association.

Remembering our wonderful days at EHS and appreciating the great start our alma mater gave to our lives should encourage us to join and support our Alumni Association. As you would imagine, there are expenses associated with maintaining KEHSAA. Your $ 25 annual dues will help our Ole’ Alma Mater to continue bringing you news of our school, classmates, and memories.

You are cordially invited to our next Hall of Fame Banquet and Celebration this coming August 5 at The Lighthouse Restaurant (6800 Baum Drive, Knoxville).

There you can visit with friends (old and new) and be able to thank those who honored us with this unique membership.

Thank you ahead of time for your consideration and generosity.

David Lawson – Class of ’60


Larry Leibowitz Opens Holocaust Day of Remembrance

Tennessee Holocaust Commission Chair Larry Leibowitz opened Tennessee’s State Holocaust Day of Remembrance Tuesday, March 7, 2017 in the House Chamber of the Tennessee State Capitol. This year’s theme, Generations of Memory: Heeding the Call to Action, examined the work that Tennessee’s students are doing in an effort to combat human-rights violations and build awareness of current genocide in the world.

During the ceremony, the winners and finalists for the Betz-Lipman Holocaust Educator of the Year Award were recognized for their outstanding work in the field of Holocaust education. Governor Bill Haslam, speaker Beth Harwell, Senator Becky Massey, and Representative Roger Kane, along with several other members of the legislature provided personal reflections on the day. The governor praised chairman Leibowitz for his work in assuring the ongoing viability of the Commission. Under Mr. Leibowitz’s leadership, the organization’s reach has expanded throughout the state.

This school year, the Commission hosted more than 300 speaking engagements and professional-development workshops reaching more than 4,000 educators, 80,000 students, and 11,000 community members in 15 colleges and universities, 60 public-school districts, and 60 private schools. Mr. Leibowitz stated that, “Remembrance obligates us not only to memorialize those that were killed but also to reflect on what could have been done to save them.” He believes strongly that “the antidote for anti-Semitism and other forms of bigotry is education, and that working together, we can fulfill the promise of ‘Never Again’.”


Leave a Reply

Knoxville East High School Alumni Association

P.O. Box 51763

Knoxville, TN 37950-1763


P.O. Box 51763

Knoxville, TN 37950-1763

© 2021 Knoxville East High School Alumni Association. All Rights Reserved.